UCL > CPDR > CRIDHO

> Franšais

The Interdisciplinary Research Cell in Human Rights (CRIDHO) has been created within the Centre for Philosophy of Law (CPDR), an extra-department Institute of the University of Louvain, by scholars seeking to understand the development of fundamental rights by relying on other disciplines, especially economics and political philosophy.

The CRIDHO works on the relationship between market mechanisms and fundamental rights, both at the level of interindividual relationships as at the level of the relationships between States in the European or international context.

The hypothesis of the CRIDHO is that the conflict between the " freedom " of economic agents on the market, with the vulnerability this results in for the less well endowed agents, and the guarantee of fundamental rights, which could exclude the commodification of these rights, requires a reflection on the context in which the individual freedoms to contract and to exchange are exercised, and on the need to transform this context to enhance the autonomy of the individual. This hypothesis is tested on the different material questions which are investigated within the CRIDHO : internal market and competitive deregulation, respect for privacy in the sphere of employment, the need for an open method of coordination of fundamental rights policies in the European Union, freedom of contract and anti-discrimination law in the field of employment...

Since May 2008, Olivier De Schutter, director of the CRIDHO, has been holding the mandate of United Nations Special Rapporteur on the Right to Food [www.srfood.org].

UCL > CPDR > CRIDHO

> English

La Cellule de recherche interdisciplinaire en droits de l'homme (CRIDHO) a été constituée au sein du Centre de Philosophie du Droit (CPDR), Institut extra-facultaire de l'Université catholique de Louvain, par des chercheurs soucieux de réfléchir le développement contemporain des droits fondamentaux à l'aide d'outils d'autres disciplines, notamment l'économie et la philosophie politique.

La CRIDHO travaille sur les rapports entre les mécanismes de marché et les droits fondamentaux, aussi bien au niveau des rapports interindividuels qu'au niveau des rapports noués entre Etats dans le cadre européen ou international.

L'hypothèse de la CRIDHO est que le conflit entre la " liberté " des agents économiques sur le marché, avec la vulnérabilité qui en résulte pour les agents les moins bien dotés, et la garantie des droits fondamentaux, qui peut exiger que ceux-ci soient placés à l'abri de toute forme de commodification, passe par une réflexion sur le contexte d'exercice de la liberté individuelle - notamment la liberté contractuelle et d'échange - et sur l'aménagement de ce contexte de manière à favoriser l'autonomie de l'individu. Cette hypothèse est mise à l'épreuve des différentes problématiques matérielles qui sont travaillées au sein de la CRIDHO : marché intérieur et dérégulation compétitive, garantie de la vie privée dans l'emploi, nécessité d'une méthode ouverte de coordination des droits fondamentaux au sein de l'Union européenne, liberté contractuelle d'emploi et interdiction de la discrimination,...

Olivier De Schutter, directeur de la CRIDHO, a assuré entre mai 2008 et mai 2014 le mandat de Rapporteur Spécial des Nations Unies sur le Droit à l'Alimentation. [www.srfood.org].